5 Vegan Pantry Essentials Every Cook Should Consider

They’re not just for vegans anymore

Jennifer Haubrich
Heated

--

A shelf/pantry above a sink
Photo: Gareth Hubbard via Unsplash

With my election anxiety diminishing, thoughts turn toward pandemic life during the upcoming winter. My daughters will continue with online school and it’s likely to be a season spent mostly at home. While we remain committed to helping our favorite local restaurants survive by getting take-out about once a week, like many people, I continue to see a whole lot of home cooking on the horizon.

While I appreciate that the pandemic has offered us opportunities to become a better cook, there are no signs it’s ending soon. Instead of worrying that the worst is yet to come and there is no way I can stop it, I’m trying to focus on what I can control.

For me, this means the food I buy.

I’ve given up on many types of shopping this year, meals out, salon visits, and vacations. I’ve even taken to grooming our terrier-poodle rescue myself, with mixed results. (Sorry, Elvie.) But one thing I have not held back on is preparing our pantry.

Did you know that you could buy Sriracha by the case?

With the possibility of higher food prices and questionable levels of access to ingredients happening again, as it did in the spring, properly stocking our pantry now seems like a reasonable…

--

--

Jennifer Haubrich
Heated

Finding the funny in relationships, parenting, life, and personifying inanimate objects. Contact: jenniferh@lumieremedia.com