It’s Time for More Chefs to Take Up Meditation

It’s the key to improving your life — as well as restaurant culture

Phillip Foss
Heated

--

Illustration: bubaone via Getty Images

I can say with confidence that I don’t recognize the Phillip Foss of before, and that person today is calmer, more creative, and generally happier. The reason I got here is because of one change in my daily routine. It’s more effective than any prescription medication, and it’s something I wish I knew about decades ago. It’s something I wish all chefs knew about. The best part is it’s free.

I am a better chef and person today because I discovered meditation.

It was something suggested by my anger management therapist, whom I began seeing after that face-grabbing incident. “Meditation? That seems new-agey,” I thought. We were still a few years from meditation being accepted by the mainstream, from athletes and office workers to elementary school students. Back in 2014, meditation felt like something monks performed on the Tibetan high hills. I was skeptical.

What finally convinced me to give it a try was, unfortunately, another consequence of living the chef’s life: Years spent standing and hunched over in kitchens had turned my back into a pretzel. I was seeking chiropractic treatment for a worsening arthritis condition, and the chiropractor suggested daily 20-minute Epsom salt…

--

--

Phillip Foss
Heated
Writer for

Phillip Foss is chef/owner of Michelin starred EL Ideas & co-author of the graphic novel Life in EL.