How to Be an Environmentally Friendly Cook and Eater

Everyday culinary choices you can make to protect the planet

Becca Bycott
Heated

--

Photo: Jordan Madrid/Unsplash

Many people are finally starting to realize that taking care of the environment is not about changing one habit, like using your own bags at the grocery store. It’s about being intentional with countless everyday actions that add up to a bigger impact.

Everything we buy, cook, and eat has an effect on the environment. Making incremental changes to how we handle food can make a major difference in the future of the planet. For example, when I go shopping, I avoid buying as much plastic as possible because I want my niece and nephews to see my favorite animal, the whale, in the wild, rather than learn about it in a book like we do other extinct animals.

Being creative and enjoying the experience of cooking doesn’t need to be at odds with an earth-friendly mindset. Here are a few ways I’m trying to be more mindful of our environment in how I purchase, prepare, and enjoy my meals.

Get organized

A lot of you will read this and think, “Yeah, yeah, I know I need to meal prep,” and sigh heavily. And yes, I will say meal prepping is one of the best ways to use up all your ingredients, stay within your budget, etc. We are wasting way too much food…

--

--

Becca Bycott
Heated

Writer, strategic comms consultant and original Bride in Reverse. I blog about relationships, cooking, digital marketing and whatever else strikes my fancy.