How to Improve a Can of Tuna? Set It on Fire

A soldier shares how to make the most of rations

Shaul Armony
Heated

--

All photos by Shaul Armony

Throughout my service in the Israel Defense Forces, I learned all sorts of skills that have been applicable to my everyday civilian life. I learned how to work efficiently under high stress, making studying for my general chemistry final feel manageable. I learned to appreciate and respect the opinions of others with whom I disagree, which helped me succeed in group projects at Columbia University. I learned the importance of organization, punctuality, and preparation, which proved invaluable as I worked in the demanding kitchen at Zahav in Philadelphia.

But the one skill that has served me the most thus far, and will no doubt continue to serve me well into the future? Burning tuna.

The food in the army was bad. Just plain and simple, bad. On base, a lone miserable cook was responsible for feeding around 100 starved and opinionated soldiers. Meals ranged from severely overcooked, underseasoned pasta to oven-baked, moth-crusted chicken breasts (true story). Occasionally, a cook would wake up on the right side of the bed and treat the base to “freshly made” (read: recently defrosted) schnitzel, a real delicacy compared to the regular menu.

--

--