It’s Time for Those 2020 Food Resolutions

Let’s inspire one another to follow through

Mark Bittman
Heated

--

Photo: Constantine Johnny/Getty Images

A few days ago, the Bittman crew shared with readers their food resolutions in one of our last newsletters of the year: with 2020 upon us, the time is now. We’d love to be inspired by one or all of yours — today and throughout the year. Drop us a line in the comments or send a note to heatedbybittman-at-gmail.com. And Happy New Year!

KATE’S RESOLUTIONS
Cook more “projects.”
In general, I’m happy with the amount I cook; it could always be more, but I’m good about making dinner the majority of nights that I’m home. Whether from my head or a recipe, I cook simple, which I think is best (I cook more that way). But in the new year, I’d like to get some more project type meals (homemade ravioli, fried chicken, etc.) under my belt. We’ll see…

Keep introducing foods into my kid’s limited repertoire.
He’s 3.5. He likes “long noodles” with red sauce, chicken nuggets (sorry, yes, I’m guilty, sue me), grilled cheese, peanut butter and jelly, bagels, lox (and capers! beats me), and pizza toast. (The kid doesn’t even like mac and cheese, which I find hilarious.) He eats more at school, when surrounded by peers: Korean beef bowls, rice and beans (LOVES this), pasta with squash and tomatoes (Marky B’s recipe), etc…

--

--

Mark Bittman
Heated

Has published 30 books, including How to Cook Everything and VB6: The Case for Part-Time Veganism. Newsletter at markbittman.com.