You Should Make My Mum’s Simple Chicken Curry

It’s ridiculously simple but so tasty

Khusro Jaleel
Heated

--

A bowl of chicken curry.
Photos: Khusro Jaleel

My sister sounded slightly anxious when she said to me , “Do you really know how mum used to make her chicken curry? I used to love eating it when I was little. Sadly, she never taught it to me!”

My sister is usually the one I ask for clarification and advice about our family recipes, so this was a strange turn of events. I assured her that I did indeed know how to prepare it and shared the recipe.

Why me?

Many years before I left for college, my mum insisted that I learn to cook at least a few simple dishes. She taught me the family recipes for a few basic things — curries, basmati rice, and chapattis. It was enough for a student on a budget.

One of these was her recipe for chicken curry. It’s ridiculously simple but so tasty. Years after she taught it to me, however, I learned how my aunt makes it, so I made a few changes and I think it’s even better this way.

Even though this is a simple curry, there are a few things that you need to pay attention to. I have tried to include as much detail as possible at various points to make sure that your dish tastes as good as what I make at home.

My Mum’s Simple Chicken Curry

--

--

Khusro Jaleel
Heated
Writer for

Techie who loves to cook. Advocate of home cooked meals. Father. Dabbles in poetry, guitar, nutrition and many other things!