‘Eating Is an Agricultural Act’

The Wendell Berry quote that frames Michael Pollan’s environmental writing

Gavin Lamb, PhD
Heated
Published in
8 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Photo: Eddie Kopp via Unsplash

Eating is an agricultural act.
— Wendell Berry

I’m not a farmer. Or a gardener. And I wouldn’t even call myself a decent potted-planter. I like the idea of becoming a gardener, though. The same way I liked the idea of becoming a baker: because fresh bread is delicious.

Flashback

When I was a high school exchange student in France years ago, I recall a few late nights after skateboarding, drinking at outdoor cafés, and muddling through drunken French discussions. Discussions about the weekly student grèves (strikes), French hip-hop, or Bush’s America (this was the early aughts).

When the evening wound down, mes amis and I were pulled through the streets of my small town in Ardèche like moths to a light.

The light, in this case, was a small bakery, selling off its first bread of the day at what seemed to be a ridiculous hour for someone unfamiliar with the baking business: 3 a.m.

The smell of baking dough wafted through the air, and once we got our bread, we all fell into a state of altered consciousness while we drunkenly munched our bread.

--

--

Gavin Lamb, PhD
Heated

I’m a researcher and writer in ecolinguistics and environmental communication. Get my weekly digest of ecowriting tools: https://wildones.substack.com/