Here Is the Grocery Store Equivalent of the Wild West

The bulk foods aisle is self-governed and a little feral

Rebecca Flint Marx
Heated

--

Photo: Melissa McCart

Not long after I moved to San Francisco, a foot fetishist tried to pick me up at Whole Foods. I was wearing sandals; he told me I had nice arches, and added that he could offer more than just compliments.

I was shocked but not surprised: not because this was San Francisco, but because we were in the bulk foods department. And as anyone who frequents the bulk aisle knows, it operates on its own terms. People do things in bulk that they don’t or can’t do in other parts of the grocery store, whether it’s shoveling psyllium husk into biodegradable bags or picking through bins of granola with their bare fingers. What happens in bulk stays in bulk, mainly because it can’t happen anywhere else. I think of it as the grocery store’s equivalent of the Wild West, self-governed and a little feral.

I didn’t grow up with any knowledge of the bulk section. Although our midwestern university town had a people’s food co-op, my parents did their shopping at Kroger, where my only brush with anarchy came from poking smiley faces into plastic-wrapped packages of raw meat.

My first meaningful bulk foods experience came years later when I was visiting a friend in Los Angeles. I was testing a recipe for…

--

--

Rebecca Flint Marx
Heated
Writer for

Freelance journalist, cake enthusiast, wandering Jew. Firmly lodged in New York's Lower East Side.