Scrambled Eggs Are Overrated

Consider the tofu green bean breakfast scramble

Priya Krishna
Heated

--

Photos: Mackenzie Kelley

I have long felt that scrambled eggs are overrated. It is deceptively difficult to get the exact texture you want — and if you’re making them for a crowd, everyone has their own opinion on doneness. They don’t do that good of a job of absorbing the flavors of seasonings. I am always still a little hungry after I eat them. Allow me to introduce you to scrambled eggs’ superior doppelgänger. A staple of my family’s breakfasts growing up, and one of my favorite recipes in my cookbook, Indian-ish: the tofu green bean breakfast scramble.

Most people give me looks of confusion and disapproval when I tell them (1) I don’t love scrambled eggs and (2) I grew up eating tofu for breakfast. I get it. What’s more symbolic of morning time than scrambled eggs? And what feels less breakfast-y than tofu?

But in India, where much of the population doesn’t eat meat, and many consider eggs nonvegetarian, scrambled alternatives like tofu are not uncommon. And you can count on Indians to make it taste really, really good: in this particular case, pairing the tofu with crunchy green beans, and lacing them with turmeric, chaat masala, and cumin seeds. It’s like making a version of scrambled eggs that’s much more flavorful and a lot harder to overcook.

--

--